Today I Leave You Here

As I head home today, I do so feeling grateful for the moments we shared…

This last 10 days I felt honoured to be a part of your everyday life. Even though right now that means you’re fighting for your life. 

We had good days and bad days but I am grateful for every single moment that you welcomed me and included me in your life, the doctors visits, the treatment plans. I feel confident leaving you in the care of the most amazing team of doctors I’ve ever seen work on a case like this. 

I believe in life my girl, I believe in your life. And I don’t think your quite done living yet. 

Yesterday you got a weekend pass and I was able to go with you. Have dinner with your family and get to know everyone again. Once upon a time I was hateful towards your adoptive family, but I’ve grown and I understand and trust that they only wants what’s best for you. They love you, we love you.  

Every single day a doctor or nurse would come in, they would ask “is this your friend” and both you and your adoptive mother would respond “nope this is my mom, I have 2 moms”. You’ll never know how touched I was. Just for that small piece you both gave me. I didn’t just feel like a Bio Mom, but your Mom too. 

While you napped yesterday I was able to sit with your adoptive mom and we talked and we both listened. And it was amazing. I was able to say things I couldn’t before because I wasn’t the right me. I was able to listen to her and accept her words because I am me. 

I leave today feeling more grateful than ever to have such an amazing daughter and an amazing extended family. We are but one family, and once upon a time I didn’t get that. 

I’m proud of me, but I’m so much more proud of you for growing into this incredible human being. 


Leave a comment